

## Legislative Council Standing Committee on State Development

## NEW INQUIRY INTO THE NSW PLANNING FRAMEWORK

The Minister for Planning, the Hon Frank Sartor MP, has asked the NSW Parliament's Standing Committee on State Development to conduct an inquiry into the New South Wales planning framework, in the context of national and international planning trends.

'The NSW Parliament has recently passed amendments to the NSW planning legislation, the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979,' said the Hon Tony Catanzariti MLC, Committee Chair. 'During debate in Parliament on these amendments, the issue of whether there was a need for a systematic review of the NSW planning system as a whole was raised. This Inquiry will investigate that need.'

The Committee will particularly consider the implications of the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) reform agenda for planning in New South Wales, climate change and natural resource issues in planning and development controls, and the duplication of processes under relevant Commonwealth and NSW legislation.'

'Other issues we will consider include the appropriateness of considering competition policy issues in land use planning and development approval processes in NSW, regulation of land use on or adjacent to airports and the implications of the planning system on housing affordability.'

The Committee will invite written submissions from August this year, with a closing date in December 2008, followed by hearings in early 2009.

'This submission period starting in August and running until December 2008 allows time for the changes to the current system to be progressed,' said Mr Catanzariti. When the Committee conducts its hearings in early 2009, we will be greatly assisted by submissions provided by people and organisations that have experienced the effect of the reforms and can make an informed contribution.'

The State Development Committee is the Chair, the Hon Tony Catanzariti MLC (Australian Labor Party), Deputy Chair the Hon Melinda Pavey MLC (The Nationals), the Hon Matthew Mason-Cox MLC (Liberal Party), Revd the Hon Fred Nile MLC (Christian Democratic Party), the Hon Christine Robertson MLC (Australian Labor Party), and the Hon Mick Veitch MLC (Australian Labor Party).

Information about the Inquiry, including how to make a submission and copies of the terms of reference, is available from the:

- Committee's website www.parliament.nsw.gov.au/statedevelopment
- Committee secretariat, phone (02) 9230 2412, or email state.development@parliament.nsw.gov.au

For further comment please contact Mr Tony Catanzariti, Committee Chair, phone 9230 2837